Fitness application development - initial questions

Hi – New to this forum and to Nuitrack. FYI – my background is business and technology, but I am NOT a software guy yet.

I have worked with Kinect based body scanners for measurements, but I am investigating the development of an exercise tracking system for fitness coaches.

I have started developing the logic of a sensor system that can evaluate body position/posture for a list of movements. For example the Squat or Lunge or Pushup. I can identify the joints and criteria for performing a “SUCCESSFUL” version of each movement, or else some % of successful. For example, on the Squat, I would want the hip to be at the same level as the knee joint, and I would want to see the knee joint at the proper angle in relation to the ankle joint. Etc. So for each exercise, I would list the joint criteria for a satisfactory body position.

Before I got down the road of major time investment, I was asking the forum if they think this is a do-able task via Skeleton SDK and the current cameras out there. One scenario is that on a monthly basis, each fitness client would perform 8-10 diff movements in front of the cameras and would be assessed vs ideal. Once client at a time would be the easiest to implement.

A fancier scenario would be to evaluate a small group of clients at the same time, during their normal workouts each week. I essentially am looking for visual feedback to the client, above and beyond simply taking photos and videos with a smart phone.

Just looking for some basic feedback from people who understand the system capabilities and perhaps advice on where to start with such a project. I am in Austin, TX.

Thanks in advance -
John OConnor
jocaustin@gmail.com