Nuitrack 27 (and 29) installation fails to Uninstall

I’ve wanted to install Nuitrack 29… but before that, I wanted to UNinstall Nuitrack 27, this is the error its giving me:

The last line of the log “El valor Path ya existe. ¨Desea sobrescribirlo (S¡/No)?” translates to: “The value Path already exists. Do you want to overwrite it (Yes/no)?”

This means you’re calling a command in the uninstaller that it is requesting human input in a command line, but since this is being displayed in the unistaller log window, there’s no way to answer “yes” to let the uninstall process to continue. As a consequence, the uninstall process gests stucked!.

Furthermore, if this is the way you’re using to set the environment path, it is a VERY BAD way of setting it.

I’ve noticed this because I am a developer, but if this happens in the computer of a client, we would have not noticed this.

---- WORKAROUND

I’ve been able to fix the uninstaller by manually editing the clear_sys_env.bat located in the installation directory, the last two lines:

reg add %HKLM% /v Path /t REG_EXPAND_SZ /d "%curpath%" /f
reg delete %HKLM% /v NUITRACK_HOME /f

should be changed to:

reg add %HKLM% /f /v Path /t REG_EXPAND_SZ /d "%curpath%"
reg delete %HKLM% /f /v NUITRACK_HOME

I am not sure why the reordering makes a difference, but I suspect that in some machines, curpath is too long and prevents the /f command to take effect.

By the way, after successfully uninstalling 27 and installing 29, I’ve checked clear_sys_env.bat and I’ve noticed it still has the same issue.

Nevertheless, I’ve began thinking about… why do you need to set the environment’s Path? I suspect it’s to remove the nuitrack paths, right? the question is:

• Are you capturing the Path value when you install the runtime, store it somewhere, and when the user uninstalls, you set it back?
  • Or, when the user uninstalls, you check the Path, you look for the nuitrack paths, and you remove it from the list of paths?